City Council consists of nine part-time members, six of whom are elected on a ward basis, two are elected at-large and one is elected as Council President. City Council persons are elected to four-year terms and are responsible for carrying out the legislative function of government. The Clerk of Council is a full-time position and is responsible for carrying out the administrative functions of City Council. These administrative functions include keeping and maintaining an accurate record of the proceedings of Council and of its committees, retaining and preserving all laws and ordinances of the City, as well as, other duties that Council may require.

Fred Maurer, President

Home: (330) 697-2316

Renee Fox, Council Clerk

Work: (330) 848-6662

Michael Soyars, At-Large Public Welfare & Safety Committee Chair

Home: (330) 753-3850

Carla Debevec, At-Large Finance & Personnel Committee Chair

Home: (330) 671-5524

Shannon Wokojance, Ward 1 Rules, Marketing & Development Committee Chair

Home: (614) 787-0602

Nina Angeloff, Ward 2 Planning, Annexation & Codes Committee Chair

Home: (330) 745-2306

Elwood Palmer, Ward 3 City Utilities Committee Chair

Home: (234) 380-2309

Craig Megyes, Ward 4 City Properties, Parks & Recreation Committee Chair

Home: (330) 753-4958

Joyce Coburn, Ward 5 Environmental Health & Social Services Committee Chair

Home: (330) 615-7907

Carol Frey, Ward 6 Streets, Sidewalks & Lighting Committee Chair

Home: (330) 825-0319


Renee Fox
Council Clerk

576 W Park Avenue
Room 106
Barberton, OH 44203
(330) 848-6662
Fax: (330) 861-7119

Business Hours:
9 am – 5 pm Mon-Fri


Ward Maps

The above linked map shows approximate boundary locations, for precise boundaries please refer to Ordinance 7-2013.

Need to know which ward you are in? You can click the button above and then search for your address to see in which ward it falls.